LICENSING ACT COMMITTEE

2.00 P.M.

29TH MAY 2014

PRESENT: Councillors Terrie Metcalfe (Chairman), Jonathan Dixon, Mike Greenall, Helen Helme, Billy Hill, Margaret Pattison, Sylvia Rogerson, Roger Sherlock, Joyce Taylor, Malcolm Thomas and Paul Woodruff

Apologies for Absence:

Councillors Val Histed, Tracey Kennedy and Vikki Price

Officers in Attendance:

Wendy PeckLicensing ManagerJane GlentonDemocratic Support Officer

1 APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

The Chairman requested nominations for the position of Vice-Chairman.

It was proposed by Councillor Margaret Pattison and seconded by Councillor Helme:

"That Councillor Dixon be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Licensing Act Committee for the Municipal Year 2014/15."

There were no further nominations and the Chairman declared Councillor Dixon nominated.

Resolved:

That Councillor Dixon be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Licensing Act Committee for the Municipal Year 2014/15.

2 MINUTES

The Minutes of the meeting held on 20th March 2014 were signed by the Chairman as a correct record.

3 ITEMS OF URGENT BUSINESS AUTHORISED BY THE CHAIRMAN

There were no items of urgent business.

4 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

5 ELECTION OF CHAIRMEN OF SUB-COMMITTEES

Committee received the report of the Licensing Manager to enable Members to make arrangements for the chairing of Licensing Act Sub-Committees during the forthcoming municipal year.

It was reported that each Sub-Committee must comprise three members of the Licensing Act Committee. The procedure for establishing Sub-Committees to deal with hearings under the Licensing Act 2003 had been agreed at the Licensing Act Committee's meeting on the 14th February 2005.

At that meeting, it had been agreed that the then Chairman and Vice-Chairman and three other members be appointed as Chairmen of the Sub-Committees, and that each ad hoc Sub-Committee convened by the Chief Officer (Governance) would include one of these Members, who would act as the Chairman. This arrangement had continued, although in some municipal years, the Committee had nominated four, rather than five, Chairmen.

It was proposed by Councillor Helme and seconded by Councillor Hill that there be a total of five Chairmen of the ad hoc Licensing Act Sub-Committees in 2014/15, comprising the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Licensing Act Committee and three other named Members, and that each ad hoc Sub-Committee include one of these five Members, who acts as Chairman.

The Chairman requested nominations for the three other Chairmen of the ad hoc Sub-Committees. Councillor Rogerson was nominated by Councillor Helme and seconded by Councillor Hill. Councillor Greenall was nominated by Councillor Margaret Pattison and seconded by Councillor Hill. Councillor Sherlock was nominated by Councillor Dixon and seconded by Councillor Thomas.

Resolved:

- (1) That there be a total of five Chairmen of the ad hoc Licensing Act Sub-Committees in 2014/15, comprising the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Licensing Act Committee and three other named Members, and that each ad hoc Sub-Committee include one of these five Members, who acts as Chairman.
- (2) That the other three Chairmen of the ad hoc Sub-Committees be Councillors Rogerson, Greenall and Sherlock.

Chairman

(The meeting ended at 2.15 p.m.)

Any queries regarding these Minutes, please contact Jane Glenton, Democratic Services - telephone (01524) 582068 or email jglenton@lancaster.gov.uk